Skip to content

the hope lady: Wendy Edey

October 31, 2009
by

stone with "hope" engraved on itWell what a wonderful morning…  it started off as an ordinary “good” morning – not exceptional… a little cold and rainy, a little too much to do, friends off for an ultrasound that i was excited about, a weekend away with the one I love looming on the horizon, a day of too many meetings about too many different things just an hour away…  and then someone sent me a notice about a workshop I really couldn’t get to, unless I cancel my weekend away (not), and I ended up on the blog of “the hope lady” thinking yeah yeah yeah blah blah blah…  someone else who wants to inspire us (part of me was thinking that) and more emails started flying in and my own hope was diminishing quickly…   So I was not feeling really hopeful.   I mean, she’s from edmonton.  I’ve been to edmonton.  and then I started reading and got immersed…  I luxuriated…  I went from month to month at random, laughing, hoping, yearning.   I started thinking maybe I could miss the weekend away… maybe, instead of going out for an amazing dinner in seattle, we could go spend the day at Sunnyhill Children’s Hospital and listen to Wendy Edey?  

This is a great example from her blog, which is full of great stories, and will give you a sense of where she’s coming from:

CALLING ON HOPE

Troubled people call on hope,
Thinking nothing short of magic can help them now.

They say: ”I am the sum of my experience.”
Hope says: ”Yes, that plus your hopes for the future.”

They say: ”What if I don’t have any hopes for the future?”
Hope says: ”Then we’ll find some.”

They say: ”Where will we find them if no hopes are there?”
Hope says: “We’ll find them in your past experience added to the past experience of others, added to the future you haven’t explored yet.”

”Past experience has tied you in knots,” says Hope. ”Hold on to me as we work at the loosening.”
Then they, with surprising frequency, say: ”Okay.”
And before they have time to think about it, they are working the knots, making room for hope to perform the magic.

Visit Wendy Edey’s Hope Lady blog here. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Wendy Edey permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:04 pm

    Hi Aaron. Thanks for lonkingmy blog on your newsletter. I am glad you got in touch again, because I didn’t really know how to contact you and I wanted to let you know that I will be in Vancouver next May. I am giving one short workshop at a spirituality conference, but maybe I could do something for you while I am there.

  2. November 1, 2009 12:02 am

    that would be great. my email is aaron@spectrumsociety.org – let me know when you’re going to be here; i know that cheryl from Imagine is also interested in doing something with you (she was at your workshop). Aaron

  3. Cheryl Hughes permalink
    November 2, 2009 6:13 am

    Aaron and Wendy, yes! Let’s plan together for the future!
    Wendy’s workshop was a day well spent and her maing us aware of how easy it is to make hope more explicit in our lives and work –has been really useful. I encurage anyone reading this to check out the website above and also check out the publications from the Hope Foundation.

    Thank you Wendy for supporting us all to be more hopeful and Aaron thank you for the many ways you and others at SPECTRUM keep plugging away and keep exploring, learning and creating possibilities– you inspire hope by your actions.:)

Trackbacks

  1. Pq, né…. « Neosaldina Chick
  2. porque, né…. | Malvadezas, implicâncias, choramingos e humanidades em geral

Leave a Reply

