Skip to content

Olesia Kornienko

February 1, 2011

This month we have an interview with Olesia Kornienko.

Olesia is an amazing woman ; She is a world-class Tango Dancer, Rock climber, artist and author.   Olesia has wonderful and incredible insight into living life to the fullest.  Olesia shares an interview with us all the way from Poland.   Our friend Gosia Juszkiewicz helped us with the translation.

1. You’re a talented dancer, having won medals and shown the world.   What music is currently inspiring you to dance, have you any new plans or dances in the next year ?

Latin music interests me the most. I’m planning on proposing dance in a wheelchair on ice in Canada.

2. Can you tell us about your dancing partners, Martin & Adam.  How was it you came to meet both of these dancers?

Adam was my friend, then I proposed that he dance with me. I met Martin on the internet. We decided to be the only integrated pair in Europe who dance salsa.


Olesia Climbing a rockface3.  You have a really great story about how you are not limited to the bounds of a wheel chair and frequently go rock-climbing.  That’s really amazing,  Can you tell me about that experience?

Rock climbing is a huge effort for me, but when I conquer another rock, I look down at my wheelchair from up above, and… I feel free. By climbing, I am pushing the boundary of physical and psychological endurance. Every time, it seems to me that I can do even more.

4. You’re art looks really quite amazing, what themes and ideas are you working on with your art.

At the moment I’m working on women’s acts.

5. How are your travels going?  Are you still interested in North America?
My mother and I are planning on coming to Vancouver in May for 3 months. I would like to stay for longer. I’d like to learn English there. Do you know a cheap hotel there?

7. What would you say your is your gift to the world?
I give the world everything that I do in life.
8. I’ve always liked what you said “People with disabilities do not need to
have special rights. They should only provide the conditions that allow the
normal functioning of society.” or that “people with disabilities need to
create conditions that allow the normal functioning of society.   If you tell us about what conditions you feel are needed for that dream?

I’ll say what I need: an adapted home.   And also that the whole country would be without borders and so that society could treat me like a normal person.

To see some amazing videos of Olesia dancing, her photography, and contact her please check out her website :

http://www.olesia75.iportfolio.pl/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Olesia permalink
    February 18, 2011 2:25 pm

    I like this interview. I hope for positive results. 🙂

  2. March 6, 2011 4:56 pm

    Thanks Olesia!
    I had fun, looking forward to having you visit ; if you’re interested in helping Olesia come to Canada let me know.

  3. Olesia permalink
    January 10, 2012 7:23 am

    I found a dance studio in Vancouver, Canada. There will my dancing lessons. I invite children in wheelchairs. I will teach you dance: cha cha, rumba, samba, waltz, foxtrot, etc.

    I met with one of the organizers of the Spectacular Snow Ball Classic. He is interested in my idea of a dance school for people on wheelchairs. She suggested that I prepare and present two children in a tournament in April. She said that when people see children dancing in wheelchairs, then an information about such a dance can be spread among them. Besides, she will help me find room for trainings. So I’m looking for two children on wheelchair ( 7 – 12 year of age) who want to dance during the show called the Snow Ball Classic in April. http://www.snowballclassic.com/ Can you help me find them?
    Details: olekor@wp.pl

Leave a Reply

