Skip to content

sites by people we want to know better: Denise Bissonnette

July 30, 2011

Denise Bissonnette, on the Diversity World website, offers a viable alternative to those seeking a different, humane and even poetic approach to supporting people with disabilities.   I spent time with Denise years ago, at a workshop, and was so impressed but have recently subscribed to her newsletter (sign up on the page above for free e-newsletters) and each one that arrives is like a breath of fresh air.   I spent an evening last week just strolling through her works and then ordered some of her excellent texts, DVDs and a CD of her reading poems which I look forward to sharing.   I particularly like a poem called “I Want to Live in Color” from her book, The Wholehearted Journey: Bringing Qualities of Soul to Everyday Life and Work.

 

The poem ends:

I want to live whole-hearted.

I want a stained glass life

through which Spirit may pour,

leaving not a pale shadow,

but a rainbow of light!

It occurred to me as I was reading Denise, and feeling quite humbled by the kind of wisdom and play she makes part of her work, how there are so many different approaches to all that we do and discover in our interactions with the idea of disability as difference.   One of the things that’s remarkable is how little much of it has to do with actual disability and how much of it has to do with our co-discovery of each person’s strengths.    Do check out this site 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jule Hopkins permalink
    August 2, 2011 2:15 pm

    Hi Aaron for introducing us to this very talented woman and for sharing part of her poem with us. I have signed up for her newsletter and I look forward to receiving them. I also look forward to seeing 101 Newsletter, thanks for keeping us so well informed and up to date on resources and people we need to know about. Happy BC Day.
    Jule

Leave a Reply

