Skip to content

How to Find Your Way Back Home By Aine Rathwell

May 28, 2015

I really liked this story when I heard it – anyone can find their way some places, some times, but it’s a great lifeskill to get lost and find your way home.   I asked Aine if she’d write it up and allow me to share it.  Thanks Aine!  Aaron
I recently moved to a new neighbourhood. It is a nice neighbourhood and very beautiful right now with all of the cherry blossoms in full bloom. The street reminds me of England.

It has been fun to get to know all of the new little shops and restaurants around here. One of my favourite things to do is go out and treat myself to nice meals. Unfortunately, the first time that I ventured out on my own I got lost.

Aine-003Before I left the house, I thought that I had my cell phone, and the notebook that has emergency numbers and addresses. I planned to go and get some sushi at the place near the corner and then afterwards walk back to my new place with someone I know very well.

Well, I had my sushi and then could not find my way back home. I tried to remember the basic directions but I ended up lost in the city and could not find my way. Turns out I didn’t have my cell phone or my notebook. I couldn’t even find a place to stop because I didn’t know who I could call.

Aine-002It feels like I was walking all day. Thankfully I was not cold and I had just eaten a nice meal. Finally I found a place of business to talk to and they let me use their phone free of charge. They helped me to look up a phone number to call and then printed out a map for me.

As I was walking back, I got confused again and stopped to ask someone to help me figure out the map. Then to my delight, a car came up and finally I got a ride back from my room mate. I am safe at last and learned some valuable lessons.

Aine-001Next time I go out, I am going to check the following:

  • –  Make sure I have my cell phone and that it is fully charged
  • –  Update my cell phone with important numbers
  • –  Bring my notebook that has information like my new address in it
  • –  When I am out with other people, pay attention to the names of the streets

Leave a comment